top of page

Belmont athletes honored at annual awards ceremony

Updated: May 6, 2022

Belmont Athletics unveiled its 2022 Bruins' Choice Awards honorees Monday night inside the Fisher Center for Performing Arts.

This year's ceremony recognized the top achievers in areas of competition, academics and community service while highlighting some of the top moments throughout the year.

Male Athlete of the Year: Guy Lipscomb - Baseball

Female Athlete of the Year: Destinee Wells - Women’s Basketball

Female Newcomer of the Year: Kaitlyn Vanderkolk - Track and Field/Cross Country and Gina Feistel - Women’s Tennis

Male Newcomer of the Year: Kevin Vanderkolk - Track and Field

Bruin Pride Award: Evan Davis - Men’s Golf

Betty Wiseman Inspiration Award: Rachel Vernon - Women’s soccer

Rich Tiner Altruism Award: Audrey Lyle - Softball

Game of the Year: Belmont Women’s basketball vs University of Oregon in NCAA Tournament

Male Director of Athletics’ Character Award: Tate Pierson - Men’s basketball

Female Director of Athletics’ Character Award: Jessica Mattsson - Track and Field

Male Presidential Scholar-Athlete of the Year: JP Armbruster - Men’s soccer

Female Presidential Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Conley Chinn - Women’s basketball

Male Moment of the Year: Ben Sheppard’s 41-point performance at Tennessee Tech University

Female Moment of the Year: Women’s cross country winning first OVC Championship and softball’s Emma Summers pitching a perfect game

Highlight of the Year: Belmont softball’s flashy double play vs University of Tennessee-Martin and Tuti Jones’ steal and score in the second round of the NCAA Tournament

David Fish Award: Wade Evans

Faculty Inspiration Award: Dr. Ryan Fox

Staff Inspiration Award: Dr. Ryan Neises

Team Academic Achievement Award: Brodey Heaton (Baseball), Holli Teige (Cheerleading), Derek Sabin (Men's Basketball), Finn Birnie (Men's Cross Country), Alex Whitehead (Men's Golf), JP Armbruster (Men's Soccer), Grant Kelly (Men's Tennis), Noah Grimm (Men's Track and Field), Conley Chinn (Women's Basketball), Lily Hallum (Women's Cross Country), Maribeth Peevy (Women's Golf), Loren House (Women's Soccer), Audrey Lyle (Softball), Taylor Tronsdon (Women's Tennis), Allison Gunderson (Women's Track and Field), Peyton Kelley (Volleyball)

PHOTO: Brodey Heaton and Conley Chinn at Monday’s Bruin Choice Awards. Belmont University

This article was written by Landen Secrest

96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page