top of page

Music Desk Concerts: Sound Proof

Sound Proof is an R&B vocal trio comprised of Belmont students Chris Lee, Ethan Jones and Matt Mahfood.

Before filming, the group’s vocal rehearsal let all in attendance know of their impressive chops. Their sound is a self-described “fusion of classic R&B with Pop in addition to some Caribbean flavor.” Influences include artists such as Boys II Men and Brian McKnight, and it shows.

Their flawlessly blended voices fulfill a feeling of nostalgia for powerful male vocalists of the ‘90s.

First, the trio performed a mashup of Justin Bieber’s “Sorry” and OneRepublic’s “Apologize.” The upbeat cover introduced their powerful and well-rehearsed sound. Next, they performed their new single “Never Again.” Their soulful and strong performance is enough to touch even the coldest of hearts.

“Never Again” is available on their Soundcloud at

Video and article by Paula Ramirez and Ellen Pelerossi.

This video is one of three Music Desk Concerts made as part of the Vision’s coverage of Curb College of Entertainment and Music Business’s Best of the Best 2016. While efforts were made to film with all of the participating bands, Country Showcase winner Kassi Ashton was unavailable to shoot a video for the series.

See all four bands take the stage on Saturday at 7 p.m. in the Curb Event Center. Admission is free.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page